Brigg Sixth Form

Educating you for individual success

Brigg Sixth Form

Physical Education BTEC

OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical in Sport

Who is the OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Foundation Diploma in Sport and Physical Activity for?

This qualification is for learners who are 16 years old or over and want to develop their skills in preparation for employment in the Sport and Physical Activity sector. This qualification is not just about being able to play sport or deal with elite athletes; employers need people who are able to lead sports and physical activities safely, work with the general public in providing sport and physical activity opportunities and help to promote physically active lifestyles.

Cambridge Technical Diploma in Sport and Physical Activity

The Level 3 Cambridge Technical Diploma in Sport and Physical Activity provides your students with a choice of three different pathways that are related to industry sectors:

• Coaching, Leadership and Physical Education

• Personal Training

• Sports Management, Development and Leisure.

What Entry Requirements Do I Need?

A minimum of a Level 4 in GCSE Physical Education or a Merit in BTEC Level 2 First Sport is a basic requirement. If a Physical Education or similar course has not been studied then a level 4 in English, Maths and a Science is a minimum requirement.

What Will I Learn On The Course?

There are 11 units that must be completed to achieve the OCR Level 3 Diploma in Sport and 17 units that must be completed to achieve the Extended Diploma.


Extended Certificate (1 A-Level)

Diploma (2 A-Levels)

Year 1

Unit 1: Body Systems and the effects of physical activity – Exam (90GLH)

Unit 17: Sports Injuries and rehabilitation – Assignments (60GLH)

Unit 2: Sports Coaching and active leadership – Assignments (90GLH)

Unit 18Practical skills in Sports and Physical activity (60GLH)

Unit 3: Sports Organisation and development – Exam (60GLH)

Unit 19 – Sport and Exercise Psychology (60GLH)

Year 2

Unit 5: Performance analysis in sport and exercise – Assignments (60GLH)

Unit 4 – Working safely in Sport, exercise, health and Leisure - Exam (90GLH)

Unit 8: Organisation of Sports Events (60GLH)

Unit 11: Physical activity for specific groups – Assignments (30GLH)

Unit 13 – Health and Fitness testing for Sport and exercise (60GLH)

How are these qualifications assessed?

These qualifications are assessed using a combination of:

• external assessment, which we set and mark

• internal assessment, where the tutor assesses learners’ work which we externally moderate.

How are these graded?

Every unit achieved will be graded as Pass, Merit, or Distinction.

Learners who don’t achieve a Pass in a unit will be unclassified. A learner must get at least a Pass for every unit to be awarded the qualification they have entered for.

Qualifications are graded using a Pass, Merit, Distinction, Distinction* (and Unclassified) structure.

Who Will Teach Me?

The teaching of the OCR Level 3 Technical Diploma and Extended Diploma will use the expertise of staff from The Vale Academy.

Are these qualifications recognised in the UCAS tariff tables?

Yes. You will find further information on the UCAS website.  It is always important for learners to check individual course requirements when applying to university.

Where Can I Get More Information Or Advice?

For further information you can contact:

Mr Neal                        

The Vale Academy  01652 294511

News & Events


Humberside Fire and Rescue gave a presentation on how to reduce the risk of...

Read More
Mental Health Awareness Week

During Mental Health Awareness week 6th Form Students were given Positive S...

Read More
Apply Now

Click below to download our appliciation formApplication Form 2021.

Read More